English Federation for Correspondence Chess

The ICCF National Federation for England

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Visit Facebook Page
  • Visit Twitter Page
English Veterans Correspondence Chess Championship

English Veterans CC Championship (EVCCC)


1. The EFCC Executive Committee shall appoint a Tournament Organiser to organise and run the tournament, and a Championship Committee comprising the Tournament Organiser (who shall be the Chairman) and two nominees. This Committee shall be responsible for the general supervision of the Championship and for the selection of players from the entrants subject to the provisions hereinafter contained.

2. The Championship shall be held once every two years, and shall be open only to those players who:

  are aged 60 years or over on the date the tournament starts

  and are registered or able (in the case of new players) to be registered to play under the England flag in the ICCF.

  The EFCC reserves the right to decline an entry or entries without stating a reason or entering into any further correspondence.

3. The Tournament Organiser shall receive entries with the entry fee as decided by the EFCC by 1st February of each year the tournament is held. Play shall commence on 5th March and the adjudication date shall be 31st December of the 2nd year of play, which allows approximately 21½ months of playing time. After the adjudication date any move played shall not be counted as a move in the game and no claim other than a claim for adjudication shall be entertained. If adjudication is required then the EFCC Adjudication procedure shall be used.

4. There shall be:

  a) one Championship final which shall typically consist of 11 players although the Tournament Organiser has the power to change this between a minimum of 6 players and a maximum of 15 players.

  b) upto three Semi-Finals which shall typically consist of 9 players although the Tournament Organiser has the power to change this between a minimum of 5 players and a maximum of 13 players.

  c) Preliminary sections which shall typically consist of 9 players although the Tournament Organiser has the power to change this between a minimum of 5 players and a maximum of 13 players.

5. Competitors shall play either one or two games against each of the other competitors in their section. All games shall be played on the ICCF webserver. The ICCF webserver Playing Rules current at the start of the competition shall apply.

6. The following rules shall apply to selecting competitors to each section unless the Championship Committee decides that special circumstances justify an alteration. The ICCF rating list (valid as at 1st February in the year the event is due to start) shall be used to rank the players in order, and place them into sections appropriate to their ranking subject to the remainder of Rule 6 below. For players with no ICCF rating, FIDE and/or ECF ratings will be considered by the Championship Committee, and any Titles held by those players.

    6.1. All qualifiers from the semi-final and preliminary round who earn promotion to a higher section must have a plus score of at least +1.

    6.2. Championship Final

  a) The winner of the Semi-Finals of the previous tournament shall be entitled to enter. This entry cannot be deferred and must be used in the following event or it is void.

  b) Those players who finished in 3rd place or above in the previous tournament (in a final of 7 players or less), in 4th place or above in the previous tournament (in a 8, 9, or 10 player Final) or 5th place or above (in a Final of 11 players or more).

  c) The remaining places in the Final will be allocated at the absolute discretion of the Championship Committee, subject to internal guidelines.

    6.3. Semi-Final Sections

  a) The winner of each previous Preliminary Section shall be entitled to enter a Semi-Final Section.

  b) The players who finished 2nd, 3rd and 4th in the previous Semi-Finals shall be entitled to enter a Semi-Final Section.

  c) The players who finished in 4th place or below in the previous tournament Final (in a final of 7 players or less) or 5th place or below (in a 8, 9, or 10 player Final) or in 6th place or below (in a Final of 11 players or more).

  d) All other players in ranking order until the Semi-Finals are full.

    6.4. Preliminary Sections

  a) The number of Preliminary Sections shall be increased as necessary to include all those that wish to participate.

    6.5. Players shall be placed by seeding, not by chance.

7. The time limit for all sections will be 40 days for each 10 moves, with time doubling after 20 days.

8. The amount of leave for all sections is 45 days per calendar year. No special leave is permitted.

9. Tie-breaks will be resolved in the following order of priority:

  a) number of wins by each tied player in the tournament;

  b) points evaluation by the Sonneborn-Berger-System;

  c) results of the tied players against each other.

If necessary, the Championship Committee is entitled to set up further tie-breaking procedures. These procedures must be indicated in the start list at the latest. If players are still tied after all relevant tie-breaking procedures have been used, the players will be considered equal.

10. The EFCC shall award a prize fund as follows:

  10.1. Championship Final

    a) Winner will receive £75 together with an engraved trophy for retention.

    b) Runner-up will receive £40.

    c) Third place will receive £20.

  10.2. Semi-final sections

    a) Winner will receive £20.

    b) Runner-up will receive £10.

11. Any matters concerning the organisation and running of the tournament, not covered in these rules, should be referred to the Tournament Director.

The following players have won the English Veterans’ Championship:-

2020-21 Jerry E. C. Asquith
2018-19 Michael B. Squires

The following players have won the British Veterans Championship:-

2016-17 KW McLaughlin
2015-16 D Coyne
2014-15 IM Pheby
2013-14 IM Pheby
2012-13 T Rooms
2011-12 L Ellis & IM Pheby 
2010-11 KW McLaughlin
2009-10 E Sowden and KW McLaughlin
2008-9 SJ Grayland
2007-8 CF Girling
2006-7 JE Davis, TJ Taylor and SJ Grayland
2005-6 TJ Taylor
2004-5 TJ Taylor
2003-4 ME Davis
2002-3 TJ Taylor
2001-2 TJ Taylor
2000-1 E Sowden
1999-00 AJA Evans and PC Gibbs
1998-99 S Shaw


EFCC Games Database

Guide to Correspondence Chess

This document, written by Neil Limbert, is an excellent introduction to correspondence chess for new players; download it from here.

Online Fee Payment

The form below is provided for you to make an online payment for tournament entries or membership subscriptions. Please put your name and the event entered, or other reference (e.g. 'new membership' or 'membership renewal') in the text field.

Tourney Ref or Other

Shredder Daily Puzzle